On a Sunday with nothing to do and a perfect excuse to be lazy, I decided to play Starbound. Starbound is a video game that has an all around space theme. Once I started a new game, my character was on a deserted planet with a broken ship navigator. I had a quest description pop up on my screen saying I should look for specific resources in order to repair my ship. A quest is basically a to-do list and it listed off what part broke on my ship and how to repair it. As I was strolling through the thick forests of this planet I was in, I noticed there were blue and green blobs jumping everywhere. I got close to one and it damaged me.

So fast forward all of my resource collecting and fighting alien life, I finally was able to leave the deserted planet. Once you leave a planet there is an option to travel to another planet in the system. Each planet has a different environment and atmosphere. Some planets don’t even have an atmosphere. Some of the planets in my local system were bland and boring so I decided to jump to another system. I think I can travel as far as I want as long as I have enough resources to fuel my journey through space.

starw1
The planet I was beamed on
system_map
Here is the planet selector
galaxystuff
Here is the system navigation

Source:

All images are from Starbound a video game on Steam.

Find their game at: http://playstarbound.com/